Right Start Math

We recently started our first real math curriculum, and so I thought I would share some info about it.  At the HEAV convention in June, Dad had the pleasure of attending a session that was quite informative on this product, but alas, I was off in a totally different session, so I am learning as we go.

Right Start Math is a lot different from how I learned, in that it is not based on counting *gasp*.  Yes, you read that correctly.  This program is based on grouping and visualizing, and it uses an Abacus to teach children how to do this.  For those of you who may be thinking that the abacus is a little outdated, let me assure you that it is becoming quite a popular method again. I have to admit that even I laughed a little when Dad expressed interest in this program, but since he is practically a genius when it comes to math, and I’m more at a middle school…okay, well, maybe high school Algebra level, LOL….it’s easy to see why I said “okay, let’s do it!” The fact that he agreed to teach it might have weighed a teensy bit heavy in his favor. 🙂

First impression: At the convention Dad took me to the Right Start table in the exhibit hall to show me all the wonderful things they had to offer. I must say that I was quite impressed with all that comes in the box. The price wasn’t too bad, and the lessons looked like something that Muffin Man would really enjoy. There is a LOT of hands on stuff here! I was hyped! We ordered and waited excitedly for our kit to arrive.
Right out of the box I was completely impressed. Everything you need for a full year of kindergarten math is right at your disposal. There was our brand new shiny abacus, just waiting to be played with, along with a whole pack of tally sticks, some plastic coins, a balance scale, some shapes, a clock, etc. You name it, and it was included! Here is a photo (from their website) of the kit that we purchased

We are only a few lessons into it so far, but from what I have seen, Muffin Man is truly loving the program. When it is time for school he actually asks if he can do math first! I love seeing him excited about learning, especially when I know that it’s not one of my favorite subjects and I hope that he can develop a deeper appreciation for it than I did. I also love that he is able to transition what he is doing there, to things in the real world.  We see him recognizing groups of items a lot quicker than before, and his ability to put the correct amount of items into groups without counting them individually is drastically improving!  Who knows, the farther along we get maybe I can pick up some of that mathematical energy, too!

If you’re curious to know what learning to visualize counting groups is like, or would like to get the “feel” of using an abacus, check out this interactive AL abacus on the Right Start website.

About The Humble Homeschooler

I never thought that the path of life would lead me into homeschooling, but when God called, we answered. We are blessed to have a son who has Asperger's and ADHD. This is a huge part of the reason we decided that homeschooling was the right option when we were called to do it. It can certainly be a challenge, but we take it one day at a time and learn as much as we can from our special boy. We wouldn't trade it for all the "normal" in the world !
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Right Start Math

  1. I’m so bummed that I didn’t make it to the RightStart table at HEAV because now I keep getting drawn to it as I’m trying to decide on what to do for math for my son (will be 4 in Sept). I’m thinking he would love the hands on but, we would probably spread out the lessons to take us a little longer. I’m interested to see how it goes for you!!!

    • Our son just turned 4 on July 3, and so far the lessons haven’t needed to be longer at all! There is so much you can do with this, and even ways you can modify it for your particular child. I promise I’ll keep you updated 🙂

  2. I love reading about other hands on curriculum out there! We will be using math u see this year but good to know if it doesn’t work out that there are wonderful programs out there! It was nice to meet you at the HEAV convention 🙂

    • Lindsay, yes it was nice to meet you! We absolutely LOVED the convention and can’t wait for next year! I will be keeping everyone updated on how this Math works for us, but so far it’s going really well. I know some others who checked out Math U See and opted for RS instead. Hubby is the one who got to attend that workshop, and he was more impressed with the RS because of all that it involves.

  3. whitehouse2004 says:

    My husband fell in love with Right Start as well at the WHO convention. So I see it in our near future….. I am just slower to buy stuff. 🙂 Look forward to reading more about it!

  4. I’ve often wondered about Right Start Math. Thank you for this great review. How is the pricing? I really think my oldest daughter would benefit greatly from this hands-on approach. She despises workbooks.

    Thanks for linking up to What Works Wednesday!

    • Heather,

      The pricing is very much in line with every other curriculum we looked at. For the deluxe kit that I showed here, we paid $215 (It’s $195 but we paid extra for the classic wooden abacus). If you have a child who loves to get hands-on, this is the PERFECT curriculum! The paperwork for them to do is very minimal and there are lots of games to play that help them remember, as well as songs about numbers and even a CD that you can play to help them learn the songs 🙂

      Oh, thank YOU for having the link up! 😉

Leave a Reply

